Thursday, September 10

Bornu governor names 21 commissioners, 27 LG chairmen

Bornu governor names 21 commissioners, 27 LG chairmen

Governor Kashim Shetima of Borno State on Thursday submitted a list of 21 nominees to the Borno State House of Assembly for confirmation as Commissioners in accordance with the law, reducing the number of Ministries from 24.

According to a statement by Isa Gusau, the governor's Special Adviser on Communications and Strategy, the governor also made seven different appointments, pending the confirmation of the Borno State legislature.

Governor Shetima also nominated 27 others as caretaker chairmen of the 27 local government areas in respect of Section 81 (4) (a) of the Borno State Local Government Law 2000 (Amended), as well as nominees as councilors for all the wards in the State.

The 21 nominees for commissioner are: Hon. Usman Ali Zannah, Hon. Musa Inuwa Kubo, Adamu Alhaji Lawan, Hon. Babagana Tijjani Banki, Hon. Kaka Shehu Lawan, Hon. Sugun Mai Mele, Dr. HarunaMshelia, Hon. Mustapha Fannarambe, AlhajiMohammed Kauji, Dr. Babagana Umara Zulum, Hon. Fanta Baba Shehu, Hon. Ahmed Usman Jaha, Hon. Zainab Gimba, Hon. Yerima Lawan Kareto, Baba Magaji Wamdeo, Hon. Inna Galadima, Dr. Mohammed Bulama, Hon. Abubakar Ibrahim Babale, Hon. Waziri Imam, Hon. Ali Abatcha and Hon. Mohammed AliyuDili.

The governor nominated the chairman and members ofthe Borno State Universal Basic Education Board, with Dr Shettima Bukar Kullima as Chairman. Members of the board are Engineer Mohammed Gambomi Marte; Alhaji Ibrahim Modibbo and Ali Abatcha Umar.

He reconstituted the Borno State Teaching Service Board with Dr Suleiman Bello as Chairman, and Alhaji Modu Gofar Mintar, Alhaji Mohammed Bukar Koloand Dr Gimba Amadu as members.
The governor appointed Engineer Satomi Ahmed as Executive chairman of the Borno State Emergency Management Agency, SEMA. The agency is to have Bulama Dawud Kyari as Secretary while Baba Mohammed Alhaji Usman, Alhaji Bulama Kime Jere, Hon. Dala Muta, Hon. Usman Dina, Hon. Abba Ali Mangal and Abba Kawu Marte as to serve as members.

Governor Shettima appointed Malah Mustafa Kukawa as Commissioner to make him a member of the Borno State Local Government Service Commission.

The statement explained that the governor decided to reduce the number of ministries for better government performance.

"All appointments were made to ensure a good balance of the various components that make up Borno State," it said.

"Those appointed were carefully selected based on their individual track merit. The Governor anticipates the cooperation of the Borno State House of Assembly which has extended very cordial working relationship with the executive arm of Government."

The governor assured the citizens of Borno State of his administration's overriding commitment to delivering on his campaign pledges to make Borno a greater place for all.

No comments :

Trending News

Other News That You May Like